Books > Most Wished For > Literature & Fiction





Price: $21.00 ($35.00)

(as of 2018-10-26 07:00:20 PST)

You save $14.00 (40%)

Usually ships in 24 hours

Literature & Fiction

Rating: 4.8 / 5.0 (432 votes)

Released: 2017-04-25

Buying Choices

30 new from $20.95
20 used from $16.96

(as of 2018-10-26 07:00:20 PST)








Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking by Samin Nosrat

Description

Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.
Check All OffersAdd to WishListCustomer Reviews

Book Details

Author: Samin NosratPublisher: Simon and SchusterBinding: HardcoverLanguage: EnglishPages: 480

Similar Books

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: A Collection of 20 Prints
The Food Lab: Better Home Cooking Through Science
Ironwood Gourmet 28221 Appalachian Salt Cellar, Acacia Wood
The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Im..
Ottolenghi Simple: A Cookbook


Comments






Your Facebook Page

Become a fan of TopEbooksCity.com on Facebook for the inside scoop on latest and most exclusive books.